The Minor Arcana

In the Tarot deck, the minor arcana is made up of 4 suits: Rods, Swords, Pentacles and Cups – with 14 cards in each suite (this makes one more card compared to traditional playing cards, with the Page added to the ‘royal’ characters).

With 56 cards to illustrate it feels both exciting and slightly daunting… I read somewhere that William Greer, who illustrated the Morgan-Greer tarot deck (and who’s tarot illustrations I love), moved to an isolated place in the country while he was painting the tarot cards… While that does sound like a lovely idea, I still enjoy diving in and working on this project when I find the time to.

Here are my first (all the aces) card in the minor arcana (painted versions – work in progress):

Annette :)